Resource Updates
New items added and changes to the Children's Mercy collection
New and discontinued resources in the CM Library Services' collection.
Scopus
Scopus is Elsevier's abstract and citation database launched in 2004. Scopus covers nearly 36,377 titles from approximately 11,678 publishers, of which 34,346 are peer-reviewed journals in top-level subject fields: life sciences, social sciences, physical sciences and health sciences.
Web of Science - Core Collection
Neurology Perspectives
Neurology Perspectives is a gold open access journal from the Sociedad Española de Neurología (Spanish Neurology Society) and a companion journal to Neurología. The content of Neurology Perspectives covers everything from neuroepidemiology, clinical neurology, neurological management and care/therapy, to basic neuroscience research applied to neurology.
The Ankle and Foot by
Here is the perfect text you need to provide your learners with real-life clinical scenarios that are ideal for Case-Based Learning and Discussion. Presents real-world patients in a real-world clinical setting, making learning fun and engaging. The Case-Based Learning approach focuses learners and clinicians on the key elements for each diagnosis and helps develop a deep understanding of how to diagnose and treat each condition. Covers everyday clinical problems such as arthritis, deltoid ligament strain, Achilles tendinitis and tendon rupture, bunion and bunionette pain, plantar fasciitis, metatarsalgia, and more. Cases unfold just the way they do in your clinic. Each case is accompanied with thoughtful clinical commentary and key messages from the author. Each chapter uses high-quality radiographic images, clinical photos, and full-color drawings to facilitate a clear, easy-to-understand approach to evaluation and diagnosis. An ideal self-assessment and review tool for pain medicine practitioners and trainees, as well as those preparing for the American Board of Anesthesiology Pain Medicine certification and recertification exam. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Breast Imaging by
Focusing on high-yield information, Breast Imaging: The Core Requisites, 4th Edition emphasizes the basics to help you establish a foundational understanding of breast imaging during rotations, refresh your knowledge of key concepts, and learn strategies to provide "value-added" reports to referring clinicians. This completely rewritten and reorganized edition emphasizes the essential knowledge you need in an easy-to-read format, with thorough updates that cover new imaging modalities, the latest guidelines, and integration of physics information throughout. Emphasizes the essentials in a templated, quick-reference format that includes numerous outlines, tables, pearls, boxed material, and bulleted content for easy reading, reference, and recall. Helps you build and solidify core knowledge to prepare you for clinical practice with critical, up-to-date information on mammography, breast ultrasound, digital breast tomosynthesis, and breast MRIs, as well as special chapters on lymph node evaluation in breast imaging, augmented and reconstructed breast, and special populations in breast imaging. Features hundreds of high-quality images, including correlations of ultrasound, mammography, digital breast tomosynthesis and MRI. Published as part of the newly reimagined Core Requisites series, an update to the popular Requisites series aimed at radiology trainees and today's busy clinicians. An eBook version is included with purchase. The eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures and references, with the ability to search, customize your content, make notes and highlights, and have content read aloud.
Cell Biology by
Reader-friendly Cell Biology, 4th Edition, provides a concise but comprehensive foundation for students entering research or health care career paths. Award winning illustrations help readers quickly grasp general principles. The authors have thoroughly updated this popular text to provide readers with the current understanding of the principles of normal cellular function along with examples of how molecular defects predispose to human disease. Major new themes in the 4th edition include the roles of intrinsically disordered polypeptides and phase separation in cellular functions, the influence of new molecular structures on understanding mechanisms, and the impact of exciting new methods-from single cell RNA sequencing to second generation super resolution fluorescence microscopy-on advancing our understanding. Clear, readable explanations provide a concise story about how cells function at the molecular level. An intuitive chapter flow starts with genome organization, gene expression, and RNA processing as a foundation for understanding every aspect of cellular function and physiology. Brings cellular biology to life for students interested in medical science by explaining how mutations in genes can compromise virtually every cellular system and predispose to human disease. Knowledge of cell biology has led to new treatments for cancer, heart failure, cystic fibrosis, and many other diseases. Unique illustrations with realistic proportions and relationships explain every cellular process including the assembly of SARS CoV-2, the structures attaching mitotic chromosomes to microtubules, the mechanism of DNA replication and how pumps, carriers and channels orchestrate physiological processes from synaptic transmission to cellular volume regulation. Covers exciting breakthroughs such as SMC motor proteins actively organizing chromosomal DNA, TOR kinases regulating metabolism, new types of immunotherapy for cancer treatment, mechanisms regulating fast axonal transport and their relation to neurodegenerative diseases, how completion of DNA replication sets the time for cells to enter mitosis, how a cascade of signals specifies the site of cell division, and newly understood pathways of normal and pathological cell death. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Coding for Pediatrics 2023 by
This year's completely updated 28th edition of Coding for Pediatrics includes all changes in CPT® codes, complete with expert guidance for their application. Also included are the new changes to office and outpatient evaluation and management (E/M) coding. The book's recently updated vignettes and examples, as well as the many coding pearls throughout, add guidance needed to ensure accuracy and payment. KEY UPDATES CPT 2023 code updates New codes and guidelines for many categories of E/M services New reporting guidelines for split/shared E/M services New codes for removal of suture and staples New codes for percutaneous pulmonary artery revascularization Revised telehealth audio-only coding Consolidated patient home and online consultations
Global Cleft Care in Low-Resource Settings by
Cleft lip and palate represents the most common congenital facial anomaly. Congenital anomalies are one of the top 10 causes of disability and suffering in many low and middle income countries (LMICs.) Further, an estimated 30% of the global burden of disease is treated primarily through surgery, and among surgical conditions, treating clefts conveys disproportionately large benefit relative to cost because suffering can be halted at a young age and deliver a lifetime of health. Over the last 50 years, cleft care has advanced in low-resource settings through international surgical missions and the efforts of sparse local providers. While exciting anecdotes of impact abound from these efforts, recent studies have identified a complication rate that often exceeds 50% and there is concern about the sustainability of foreign volunteer missions. This book serves as a thorough resource for providing medical and surgical care of cleft lip and palate deformities in low-resource settings, geared to the context of those settings. The content is consensus-based and evidence-based, with emphasis on treatment that is appropriate to a low-resource context and how this differs from that in higher-resource environments. It is authored by recognized cleft experts in close partnership with providers who practice in low-resource settings. It is heavily pictorially based through illustrative figures, photos and diagrams, to be facile for those who speak English as a second language. Following the introduction, Complete Cleft Care in Low-Resource Settings has six main sections: patient workup, surgical treatment, comprehensive care, educational innovation, care delivery models, and finally a series of illustrative case studies. Uniquely, the book's breadth encompasses cleft care comprehensively, but does so through a practical "how to" format with many "from the field" examples of what has worked.
Critical Race Theory (Third Edition) by
Updated to include the Black Lives Matter movement, the presidency of Barack Obama, the rise of hate speech on the Internet, and more Since the publication of the first edition of Critical Race Theory in 2001, the United States has lived through two economic downturns, an outbreak of terrorism, and the onset of an epidemic of hate directed against immigrants, especially undocumented Latinos and Middle Eastern people. On a more hopeful note, the country elected and re-elected its first black president and has witnessed the impressive advance of gay rights. As a field, critical race theory has taken note of all these developments, and this primer does so as well. It not only covers a range of emerging new topics and events, it also addresses the rise of a fierce wave of criticism from right-wing websites, think tanks, and foundations, some of which insist that America is now colorblind and has little use for racial analysis and study. Critical Race Theory is essential for understanding developments in this burgeoning field, which has spread to other disciplines and countries. The new edition also covers the ways in which other societies and disciplines adapt its teachings and, for readers wanting to advance a progressive race agenda, includes new questions for discussion, aimed at outlining practical steps to achieve this objective.
Current Surgical Therapy by
An essential resource for written, oral, and recertifying board study, as well as an excellent reference for everyday clinical practice, Current Surgical Therapy, 14th Edition, provides trusted, authoritative advice on today's best treatment and management options for general surgery. Residents and practitioners alike appreciate the concise, highly formatted approach to each topic, as well as the practical, hands-on advice on selecting and implementing current surgical approaches from today's preeminent general surgeons. This highly regarded text remains the only surgical reference of its kind, offering a complete array of topics and delivering just the key facts. Covers virtually every problem that a general surgeon may encounter, synthesizing vast amounts of information into concise, digestible chapters. Provides thoroughly updated information throughout, including focused revisions to the most in-demand topics. Presents each topic using the same easy-to-follow format: disease presentation, pathophysiology, diagnostics, and surgical therapy. Includes eight all-new surgical videos covering enteral stents in the treatment of colonic obstruction; multiple management approaches to spigelian, obturator, and lumbar hernias; spontaneous and secondary pneumothorax, and acute mesenteric ischemia. Features more than 2,000 illustrations-line drawings, graphs, algorithms, clinical/operative photographs, micrographs, and radiological images-including hundreds new to this edition. Integrates minimally invasive surgical techniques, basic science, and critical care aspects of surgical practice throughout. Discusses which approach to take, how to avoid or minimize complications, and what outcomes to expect. Provides a quick, efficient review prior to surgery and when preparing for surgical boards and ABSITEs. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Developing the Digital Lung by
Reflecting recent major advances in the field of artificial intelligence, Developing the Digital Lung, From First Lung CT to Clinical AI, by Dr. John Newell, is your go-to reference for all aspects of applied artificial intelligence in lung disease development, including application to clinical medicine. It provides a unique overview of the field, beginning with a review of the origins of artificial intelligence in the mid-1970s and progressing to its application to clinical medicine in the early 2020s. Organized based on the four stages of development, this practical, easy-to-use resource helps you effectively apply artificial intelligences to lung imaging. Traces the development of precise quantitative CT of diffuse lung disease through the use of applied AI, leading to faster effective diagnosis of patients with lung disease. Reviews CT manufacturers, models and scanning protocol used to produce the 3D digital maps of the lungs. Discusses how the data processed by AI algorithms can produce measures of emphysema, air trapping, and airway wall thickening in subjects with COPD and measures of pulmonary fibrosis and traction bronchiectasis in idiopathic pulmonary fibrosis (IPF). Demonstrates the differences between reactive machine AI and limited memory AI methods. Includes comprehensive case studies and current information on cloud computing. An eBook version is included with purchase. The eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures and references, with the ability to search, customize your content, make notes and highlights, and have content read aloud.
Endosonography by
A must-have reference for both beginning and experienced endosonographers, Endosonography, 5th Edition, coves the full spectrum of endoscopic ultrasound (EUS) in a single, convenient resource. Concise, easy-to-navigate chapters keep you abreast of changes in this dynamic field, and nearly 150 procedural videos reinforce techniques of common, clinically relevant procedures. Covering both standard and newer techniques, this authoritative reference covers everything you need to know-from basic applications to advanced interventions. Guides you step by step through both introductory and advanced techniques, covering everything from interpretation and accurate diagnosis to treatment recommendations. Employs a user-friendly, templated format to cover all topics from basic applications to advanced interventions, with procedures organized by body system. Includes a new chapter on Endo-Hepatology, and an increased focus on using EUS for interventions. Features 20 new procedural videos covering topics such as esophageal and gastric cancer; mediastinal lesions and lung cancer; pancreatic tumors; and bile duct, gallbladder, and ampullary lesions. Covers recent improvements and new applications in guided fine-needle EUS for diagnosis and cancer staging. Features high-quality images with correlative illustrations, diagnostic algorithms, examination checklists, and key points boxes throughout. Provides nearly 150 how-to-videos of both diagnostic and therapeutic procedures performed by expert endosonographers that demonstrate effective techniques and the proper use of equipment. Provides practical information on establishing an endoscopic practice, from what equipment to buy to effective cytopathology services. An eBook version is included with purchase. The eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures and references, with the ability to search, customize your content, make notes and highlights, and have content read aloud. Updates on procedures, equipment. Improvements, new applications in guided fine-needle EUS for diagnosis and cancer staging
Gastrointestinal and Liver Pathology by
Now fully revised to include recent advances in the field, the third edition of Gastrointestinal and Liver Pathology Pathology, a volume in the Foundations in Diagnostic Pathology series, is an essential foundation text for residents and pathologists. The popular template format makes it easy to use, and new information throughout brings you up to date with what's new in the field, including advances in molecular diagnostic testing and new diagnostic biomarkers. Practical and affordable, this resource is ideal for study and review as well as everyday clinical practice. Key features of this practical text include: A consistent, user-friendly format that explores each entity's clinical features, gross and microscopic findings, ancillary studies, differential diagnoses, and prognostic and therapeutic considerations. A focus on specific features of selected neoplastic and non-neoplastic entities, including broad and in-depth differential diagnoses. Clinical information on treatment and prognosis, enabling you to better understand the clinical implications of the diagnosis. Nearly 1,000 full-color, high-quality illustrations with extensive figure legends, as well as abundant boxes and tables throughout. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices. What's NEW in this edition: Advances in molecular diagnostic testing and its capabilities and limitations, including targeted/personalized medicine. New diagnostic biomarkers and their utility in differential diagnosis, newly described variants, and new histologic entities. The latest TNM staging and WHO classification systems. New co-editors Drs. Amitabh Srivastava and Daniela S. Allende lead a team of expert, internationally recognized pathologists who keep you up to date with the latest information in the field.
Hematology by
Extensively revised, comprehensive content from leading global contributors ensures that Hematology, 8th Edition, remains your #1 choice for expert guidance in all areas of this rapidly advancing subspecialty. This edition reflects the numerous advances that are redefining the field and dramatically influencing new approaches to diagnosis, treatment, and outcomes. Well-illustrated and clinically focused, it details the basic science and clinical practice of hematology and hematopoietic cellular therapy-covering virtually all aspects of hematology in one definitive resource. Covers all hematologic disorders, including comprehensive discussions of hematologic malignancies, individualized patient care, cell-based therapies, transplantation, transfusion medicine, hemostasis, thrombosis, and consultative hematology-in one convenient volume. Provides state-of-the-art guidance from global experts at the forefront of the latest research and clinical practice. Provides extensive updates throughout on basic science research, advances in molecular diagnostics, new drugs, immunotherapies, personalized medicine, laboratory medicine, transfusion medicine, stem cell transplantation, and clinical treatment for all hematologic malignancies and non-malignancies Contains new chapters on gene editing; the impact of mitochondria on hematopoiesis; myelodysplastic syndrome/myeloproliferative neoplasm overlap syndromes; immunotherapy and management of its toxicities; transfusion medicine in sickle cell disease; principles of radiation therapy; and COVID-19, including complications of vaccination and its impact on the hematologic system. Discusses many new advances in the field, including details and the future of gene therapy for hemophilia, gene editing for sickle cell disease and thalassemia, the evolution of cellular therapy, use of cells, transfusion medicine vs. protein therapy, gene sequencing, immunotherapy, and new targeted drugs. Includes more decision-making algorithms for formulating diagnoses and personalized treatment plans for those highly complex disorders that require individualized approaches. Addresses the effects of aging on hematopoiesis and on the manifestations of a variety of hematologic disorders. Discusses cardio-oncology and its impact on the treatment of patients with hematologic disorders. Presents relevant basic science as background for clinical application in later sections. An eBook version is included with purchase. The eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures and references, with the ability to search, customize your content, make notes and highlights, and have content read aloud.
Human Biochemistry by
Human Biochemistry, Second Edition provides a comprehensive, pragmatic introduction to biochemistry as it relates to human development and disease. Here, Gerald Litwack, award-wining researcher and longtime teacher, discusses the biochemical aspects of organ systems and tissue, cells, proteins, enzymes, insulins and sugars, lipids, nucleic acids, amino acids, polypeptides, steroids, and vitamins and nutrition, among other topics. Fully updated to address recent advances, the new edition features fresh discussions on hypothalamic releasing hormones, DNA editing with CRISPR, new functions of cellular prions, plant-based diet and nutrition, and much more. Grounded in problem-driven learning, this new edition features clinical case studies, applications, chapter summaries, and review-based questions that translate basic biochemistry into clinical practice, thus empowering active clinicians, students and researchers.
Introduction to Visual Optics by
Get the foundational knowledge you need in the area of visual optics with the text that is easy to comprehend, visually appealing, and engaging from cover to cover. Introduction to Visual Optics: A Light Approach covers the basic information you need in this complex area in a significantly more approachable manner than other resources on the market. You'll find clear, easy-to-read explanations that work hand-in-hand with colourful charts, graphs, illustrations, and diagrams created by the author, Dr. Samantha Strong. This unique text is perfect for optometry students, optometrists, ophthalmology residents, student dispensing opticians, and others in the eye care field. Covers foundational visual optics knowledge, from refraction to reflection, vergence, and more in a fun, easy-to-read format. Features a highly visual format, with full-colour illustrations, tables, and boxes throughout to aid in understanding and memory recall. Discusses underlying principles of several key ophthalmic imaging techniques. Includes experiments you can try at home (create your own cornea, build a camera obscura, create a blue sky in your kitchen, create an interference film, create a prism) with companion demonstration videos to facilitate and apply key learning objectives. Contains approximately 200 practice questions and equations throughout that test your knowledge of core concepts. An eBook version is included with purchase. The eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures and references, with the ability to search, customize your content, make notes and highlights, and have content read aloud.
Kanski's Synopsis of Clinical Ophthalmology by
Practical and portable, Kanski's Synopsis of Clinical Ophthalmology, 4th Edition, distills the key information from the bestselling Kanski's Clinical Ophthalmology: A Systematic Approach into a convenient, easy-to-follow volume. Perfect for quick reference, this concise resource contains "need to know" information highlighted by more than 900 high-quality illustrations and clinical photographs with clear explanations. New author, Dr. John Salmon, provides a fresh approach to critical content, ensuring that this manual remains an ideal on-the-go reference, as well as an efficient study guide for examinations. Covers the essential information you need to effectively diagnose and manage a comprehensive range of ophthalmic disorders, using a concise format that makes it easy to quickly grasp the "must-know" aspects of each condition. Keeps you up to date with the latest advances in the treatment of glaucoma, the use of biological agents in the treatment of uveitis, genetic advances in hereditary retinal dystrophies, anti-VEGF agents for macular disease, and OCT/OCTA imaging. Includes a new chapter covering examination techniques, along with sweeping content updates on key topics. Features hundreds of high-quality images: diagnostic imaging, including OCT/OCTA; surgical and clinical photos depicting presenting signs and symptoms as well as surgical techniques; and medical illustrations that convey important anatomical considerations. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Lung Cancer Rehabilitation by
Approx. 244 pages Provides a clear understanding of the current medical, surgical and radiation treatments for lung cancer. Covers the whole spectrum of lung cancer rehabilitation, including the role of physical and occupational therapy, the treatment of anxiety and depression, integrative care, pain management, nutritional rehabilitation and more. Offers a timely and convenient resource written by leading experts in lung cancer and rehabilitation.
MacSween's Pathology of the Liver by
Written and edited by an international team of renowned authorities, MacSween's Pathology of the Liver, 8th Edition, remains the field's definitive reference on liver pathology. This must-have text is ideal for surgical pathologists in practice and in training who examine liver specimens on a day-to-day basis. It provides invaluable assistance in recognizing the huge variety of appearances of the liver that result from infections, tumors, and tumor-like lesions, as well as organ damage caused by drugs and toxins. With expert, comprehensive coverage of all malignant and benign hepatobiliary disorders, MacSween's is a convenient, one-stop resource for use in the reporting room as well as in personal study. Shares the knowledge and experience of a "who's who" list of experts in the field of hepatobiliary pathology, led by editors Alastair D. Burt, Linda D. Ferrell, and Stefan G. Hübscher. Features more than 1,000 high-quality, full color illustrations, providing a complete visual guide to each tumor or tumor-like lesion. Discusses advances in molecular diagnostic testing, its capabilities, and its limitations, including targeted/personalized medicine. Incorporates the latest TNM staging and WHO classification systems, as well as new diagnostic biomarkers and their utility in differential diagnosis, newly described variants, and new histologic entities. Includes relevant data from ancillary techniques (immunohistochemistry, cytogenetics, and molecular genetics), giving you the necessary tools required to master the latest breakthroughs in diagnostic technology. Provides you with all of the necessary diagnostic tools to make a complete and accurate pathologic report, including clinicopathologic background throughout. Directs you to the most recent and authoritative sources for further reading with a comprehensive reference list that highlights key articles and up-to-date citations. An eBook version is included with purchase. The eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures and references, with the ability to search, customize your content, make notes and highlights, and have content read aloud.
Manual of Surgical Pathology by
Offering complete, practical guidance on the evaluation of the surgical pathology specimen, the Manual of Surgical Pathology concentrates decades of experience from the faculty and staff of one of the busiest and most respected pathology departments in the world. From a specimen's arrival in the department to preparation of the final report, you'll find step-by-step instructions on specimen processing, tissue handling, gross dissection technique, histological examination, application of special stains, development of a differential diagnosis, and more. The fully revised 4th Edition is an invaluable reference for practicing pathologists, residents, and pathology assistants as a practical, everyday resource for learning and applying optimal specimen evaluation as well as an excellent guide for board review. Helps you find information quickly with a user-friendly design, concise paragraphs, numbered lists, and bulleted material throughout the text. Reflects the latest AJCC staging information, as well as updates throughout on reporting procedures, protocols, and safety. Offers detailed instructions on the dissection, description, and sampling of specimens, and explains the application of pathology reports to patient management. Provides procedures for new types of specimens including pulmonary image guided resections, endoscopic mucosal resection, endoscopic submucosal dissection, laparoscopic hysterectomy, or nephrectomy morcellation, vertical sleeve gastrectomy, and evaluation of breast implant capsules with a clinical suspicion of lymphoma Features dozens of illustrations that demonstrate the gross appearance of common pathologic lesions, and more than 150 tables that examine the interpretation of histochemical stains, immunohistochemical studies, electron microscopy findings, cytogenetic changes, and much more. Examines the specimens from every organ and system as well as bullets, medical devices, and foreign materials. Includes a new chapter on occupational hazards for pathologists ranging from visual and musculoskeletal problems to exposure and prevention of workplace acquired infection and cancer. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices. Latest AJCC staging information This edition will include short videos demonstrating grossing procedures General updates on reporting procedures, protocols, and safety
Medical Biochemistry by
Written by carefully selected global experts, practicing physicians, and educators in the various sub-disciplines of biochemistry, Medical Biochemistry, 6th Edition, offers a unique combination of research and clinical practice tailored to today's integrated courses. Covering clinically relevant topics in greater detail than other texts, this outstanding resource provides a strong overview of traditional areas in medical biochemistry along with state-of-the-art coverage of today's latest developments. You'll learn basic science concepts alongside clinical cases that describe patients likely to be encountered in clinical training, as well as how to use laboratory tests to diagnose and monitor the most important conditions. Thorough yet accessible, this clinically focused text is useful from medical school to clinical practice. Features a strong clinical orientation, emphasizing the relevance of biochemistry to the daily practice of medicine. Highlights the latest developments in regulatory and molecular biology, signal transduction, age-related chronic disease, epigenetics, and bioinformatics and the "-omics," as well as important global medical issues such as diabetes mellitus, obesity and malnutrition, cancer and atherosclerotic cardiovascular disease, and nutrition and exercise. Emphasizes clinical evaluation, maintenance of good health, and disease prevention, as well as translational medicine and the diagnosis and treatment of disease. Contains organ-focused chapters addressing the biochemistry of the bone, kidney, liver, lungs and muscle; and system-focused chapters on the biochemistry of the immune and endocrine systems, neurochemistry and neurotransmission, and cancer. Includes clear, colorful icons and illustrations that help you easily navigate the text and understand the material. Provides online features such as challenging "Active Learning" questions for independent study, relevant websites that reinforce or supplement chapter content, 150+ multiple-choice and USMLE-style questions, a quick-reference glossary, additional images and case studies, references to current literature, and more. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Miller's Basics of Anesthesia by
Long regarded as the undisputed leading text of its kind, Miller's Basics of Anesthesia provides comprehensive yet concise coverage of both basic science and clinical topics in anesthesiology. Under the experienced editorial leadership of Dr. Manuel C. Pardo, Jr., the 8th Edition has been meticulously updated to reflect the latest advances in practice and important aspects of contemporary anesthesia care, including pathophysiology, pharmacology, regional anesthesia, anesthetic management, and special problems and patient groups. It remains the first learning resource of choice for anesthesia providers, including anesthesia residents and fellows, medical students, and student registered nurse anesthetists, and is also a valuable review tool for practitioners undergoing maintenance of certification or recertification. Features a reader-friendly format with color-coded section tabs, easy-to-read chapters, and a concise writing style, along with color patterns in every chapter for quick navigation. Contains new chapters on Clinician Well-Being, Perioperative Point-of-Care Ultrasound, Environmental Impact of Anesthetics, and Perioperative Medicine. Covers key topics such as anesthesia neurotoxicity, palliative care, sleep medicine, trauma, and much more. Includes high-quality images that offer a detailed visual understanding of complex topics, while numerous figures and tables condense material for easier retention and review. Shares the knowledge and experience of renowned anesthesia expert Dr. Manuel C. Pardo, Jr. and a team of more than 80 global contributing authors. Serves both as an initial learning resource and a useful tool for solidifying the essential "must know" information and reviewing core knowledge for maintenance of certification. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Multiparametric Ultrasound for the Assessment of Diffuse Liver Disease by
248 pages Presents an overview of conventional ultrasound findings in chronic liver disease and portal hypertension, and presents the basic concepts and protocols needed to measure liver stiffness and interpret liver stiffness values. Details clinical applications, artifacts, and guidelines of liver ultrasound elastography, including tips and tricks. Reviews the latest ultrasound techniques to assess liver steatosis and focal liver lesions, as well as the uses of new technologies of fat quantification and dispersion. An eBook version is included with purchase. The eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures and references, with the ability to search, customize your content, make notes and highlights, and have content read aloud.
Neuropathology by
Now fully revised to include recent advances in the field, the third edition of Neuropathology, a volume in the Foundations in Diagnostic Pathology series, is an essential foundation text for residents and pathologists. The popular template format makes it easy to use, and new information throughout brings you up to date with what's new in the field, including advances in molecular diagnostic testing and new diagnostic biomarkers. Practical and affordable, this resource is ideal for study and review as well as everyday clinical practice. Key features of this practical text include: A consistent, user-friendly format that explores each entity's clinical features, pathologic features (gross and microscopic), ancillary studies, differential diagnoses, and prognostic and therapeutic considerations. A focus on specific features of selected neoplastic and non-neoplastic entities, including broad and in-depth differential diagnoses. Review of normal histology before examining abnormal findings, enabling you to conveniently compare their characteristics in one place at one time. Clinical information on treatment and prognosis, enabling you to better understand the clinical implications of the diagnosis. Nearly 600 full-color, high-quality illustrations with extensive figure legends, as well as abundant boxes and tables throughout. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices. What's NEW in this edition: Advances in molecular diagnostic testing and its capabilities and limitations, including targeted/personalized medicine. New diagnostic biomarkers and their utility in differential diagnosis, newly described variants, and new histologic entities. The latest TNM staging and WHO classification systems.
Pediatric Evaluation and Management Coding Revisions: Facility and Office Services by
Pediatric Evaluation and Management Coding Revisions: Facility and Office Services is filled with expert guidance to help you prepare for the changes coming to Current Procedural Terminology (CPT ®) facility-based evaluation and management coding in 2023. It also reviews the major updates that were made to office-based evaluation and management coding in 2021. This all-in-one reference contains curated content from four chapters of Coding for Pediatrics 2023 as well as more than 10 articles from the AAP Pediatric Coding Newsletter. In-depth explanation and examples help coders and pediatricians assess how their practices will be affected in terms of documentation and code selection, as well as any changes that might need to be made to their current coding practices. Users can earn a certificate of completion upon successfully passing an online quiz. Table of Contents: Chapter 1. Evaluation and Management Documentation Guidelines Chapter 2. Non-preventive Evaluation and Management Services in Outpatient Settings Chapter 3. Emergency Department Services Chapter 4. Noncritical Hospital Evaluation and Management Services Appendix Using Evaluation and Management Documentation Guidelines to Define Problems Addressed Data to Be Reviewed and Analyzed Selecting the Level of Risk Associated With Patient Management Selecting the Level of Service Based on Medical Decision-making Evaluation and Management Code and Guideline Changes Announced Preparing for 2023: Guidelines for Hospital Inpatient and Observation Services Changes to Guidelines for Inpatient and Observation Consultations Same Date Admission and Discharge Services Emergency Department Visits Outpatient Consultations Home and Residence Services Evaluation and Management Total Time and Prolonged Service Online Quiz for Certificate of Completion
Pediatric Hematology and Oncology Secrets by
For more than 30 years, the highly regarded Secrets Series® has provided students and practitioners in all areas of health care with concise, focused, and engaging resources for quick reference and exam review. Pediatric Hematology & Oncology Secrets, 2nd Edition, offers practical, up-to-date coverage of the full range of essential topics in this dynamic field. This highly regarded resource features the Secrets' popular question-and-answer format that also includes lists, tables, pearls, memory aids, and an easy-to-read style - making inquiry, reference, and review quick, easy, and enjoyable. The proven Secrets Series® format gives you the most return for your time - succinct, easy to read, engaging, and highly effective. Fully revised and updated, including discussions of supportive care of children with cancer and psychosocial aspects of care. New chapters on Precision Medicine and Systems Biology; Health Equity and Disparities in Pediatric and Adolescent/Young Adult Oncology; Transfusion Medicine; Neoplastic Hematopathology; Hemophagocytic Lymphohistiocytosis; and more. Top 100 Secrets and Key Points boxes provide a fast overview of the secrets you must know for success in practice and on exams. Bulleted lists, mnemonics, practical tips from global leaders in the field - all providing a concise overview of important board-relevant content. Portable size makes it easy to carry with you for quick reference or review anywhere, anytime. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices. 1. All chapters would be updated and made current 2. All graphs, charts, tables would be updated 3. New chapters Immunotherapy Personalized medicine with genome sequencing and targeted molecular diagnostics and therapies Acute care an critical care management: ECMO New modalities in RT such as Proton Beam, gamma knife Developmental therapeutics of new agents Cancer in adolescents and young adults Integrative therapies/complementary medicine as it applies to childhood cancer Palliative Care Stem cell therapy: Dramatic changes since last edition including mini-ablative, cords, haploidentical, immun-tolerance Transplants for non-malignant diseases PTLD: Post Transplant Lymphoproliferative disease CART therapies (Chimeric Antigen Receptor T-cells) Cancer Survivorship Fertility preservation
Pediatric ICD-10-CM 2023 by
For the pediatric provider, coder, and biller, here's the most helpful and easy-to-use manual on ICD-10-CM yet. Completely updated for 2023, this 8th edition includes features like new subcategories for several popular topics. It will publish just in time for the October 1, 2022, release of ICD-10-CM codes. Purpose built to streamline the coding process, this important guide condenses the vast ICD-10-CM code set into only pediatric-centered guidelines and codes. The guidelines are included directly at the chapter and code level to help ensure that coders always use the right codes in the right situations. Tabular, indexed navigation helps you find needed items fast. Key updates in this edition -- Updated for the October 1, 2022 release of ICD-10-CM codes -- Nearly 410 new and revised ICD-10-CM codes affecting 15 chapters -- Digital book hosted on new platform featuring searchable PDF and XML chapters
Pediatric Lower Limb Deformities by
Comprehensive and generously illustrated, this text highlights both general principles and specific strategies for managing the spectrum of pediatric lower limb deformities. It is divided thematically into five sections, though any chapter can stand on its own to guide the clinician in specific situations. Part I covers general principles and techniques, including etiology, clinical evaluation, imaging as well as different surgical methods. Part II, covering related concepts and management options, discusses soft tissue contractures, amputations and working in austere and resource-challenged settings. Underlying conditions comprise part III - specific metabolic, neuromuscular and tumor-related conditions, along with arthrogryposis, Osteogenesis Imperfecta and various skeletal dysplasias. Part IV presents congenital and developmental disorders, such as congenital femoral deficiency, hemimelias, tibial pseudoarthrosis and Blount disease, while part V rounds out the book with chapters on sequelae related to different etiologies and their treatment. Covering all aspects of the management of pediatric lower limb deformities and written by renowned experts in the field, this textbook will be an invaluable resource for orthopedic surgeons and trainees worldwide.
Perioperative Care of the Cancer Patient by
More than 80% of patients with cancer will need the services of anesthesiology and perioperative medicine, intensive care medicine, and pain management specialists during their cancer journey for diagnostic, therapeutic, and symptom management needs, as well as for the management of recurrent disease, secondary cancers, and ongoing non-oncologic surgical needs during survivorship. Perioperative Care of the Cancer Patient is today's most up-to-date, authoritative, comprehensive reference on the acute care of surgical patients with cancer, from a team of international experts in this emerging and dynamic specialty. Covers current clinical practice and perioperative care guidelines during the entire cancer journey for both adult and pediatric patients. Includes a diverse array of topics on cancer care, such as cancer epidemiology, cancer biology, ethics in cancer care delivery, value proposition in cancer care, opportunities and challenges with research programs in perioperative cancer care, application of big data and computational sciences in cancer medicine and care delivery, and the MD Anderson Cancer Center Moon Shots Program®. Discusses newer cancer therapies and their perioperative implications, functional assessment and prehabilitation, enhanced recovery programs in cancer care, challenges with novel cancer therapies in the care of the critically ill cancer patient, chronic and interventional pain management in patients with cancer, and more. An educational resource and clinical reference for surgeons, anesthesia practitioners, hospitalists, internists, pain physicians, intensivists, basic science researchers, and all clinicians involved in the acute care of surgical patients with cancer. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Practical Guide to Interventional Pulmonology by
Concise, current, and evidence-based, Practical Guide to Interventional Pulmonology provides authoritative guidance on basic and advanced interventional pulmonology (IP) procedures and state-of-the-art technologies. Leading IP experts offer detailed, practical tips on everything from, how to start an IP practice, patient selection, and pre-procedural decision making to practical approaches and alternate therapies such as surgery or radiation. This one-stop manual covers all the latest IP procedures and their efficacy, precautions, safety aspects, complications, and step-by-step illustrated techniques and tips in one convenient volume. Covers all the latest interventional pulmonology procedures, including advanced diagnostic studies, endobronchial ultrasound (EBUS), navigational bronchoscopy, rigid bronchoscopy, use of airway ablation therapy, debulking of tumors, cryotherapy, and insertion of airway stents. Uses a consistent, easy-to-follow format for procedures: Definition, Pre-procedural preparation, Procedural techniques, Precautions and caveats, Complications, Evidence, and Summary. Provides superb visual guidance on IP procedures with step-by-step photos, anatomic drawings, imaging studies and videos for selected procedures. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Practical Pulmonary Pathology by
Part of the in-depth and practical Pattern Recognition series, Practical Pulmonary Pathology, 4th Edition, helps you arrive at an accurate diagnosis by using a pattern-based approach. Leading diagnosticians in pulmonary pathology offer practical assistance in identifying all major neoplastic and non-neoplastic diseases of the lungs, guiding you from a pathological pattern through the appropriate work-up, around the pitfalls, and to the best diagnosis. More than 1,000 high-quality illustrations capture key morphologic patterns for a full range of common and rare conditions and assist in the interpretation of complex diagnostic puzzles. A unique "visual index" at the beginning of the book directs you to the exact chapter and specific page you need for in-depth diagnostic guidance. Helps you quickly recognize the vast variety of appearances of the lung that result from infections, tumors, and tumor-like lesions, both malignant and benign. Discusses advances in molecular diagnostic testing, its capabilities and its limitations, including targeted/personalized medicine. Incorporates clinicopathologic background and relevant data from ancillary techniques (immunohistochemistry, cytogenetics, and molecular genetics), giving you the tools you need to master the latest breakthroughs in diagnostic technology. Covers the latest TNM staging and WHO classification systems, as well as new diagnostic biomarkers and their utility in differential diagnosis, newly described variants, and new histologic entities. Color-codes patterns to specific entities, and summarizes key points in tables, charts, and graphs so you can quickly and easily find what you are looking for. Shares the knowledge and expertise of new co-editor, Dr. Maxwell L. Smith. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Procedures in Cosmetic Dermatology: Botulinum Toxin by
Offering a step-by-step, practical approach to this commonly performed cosmetic procedure, Procedures in Cosmetic Dermatology: Botulinum Toxin, 5th Edition, enables you to master the up-to-date cosmetic techniques that produce the superior results your patients expect. Edited by expert clinicians Drs. Alastair Carruthers and Jean Carruthers, along with Jeffrey S. Dover, Murad Alam, and Omar Ibrahim, it covers the science behind these neuromodulators and their usage areas in cosmetic dermatology, as well as the latest treatment options-all abundantly illustrated and evidence based. A substantial video library demonstrating injection techniques helps you successfully incorporate the latest procedures into your practice. Provides complete, clear descriptions and rationales for injection placement for facial and neck rejuvenation and hyperhidrosis, including difficult areas like eyebrow shaping and treatment of masseter hypertrophy. Covers new developments in the field including new treatment sites, new methods of using the toxins, an upcoming topical toxin, and new longer-acting and shorter-onset, shorter-lasting toxins. Features high-quality images and 25 new videos demonstrating exactly how to perform injection techniques. Addresses the differences in doses and particular characteristics among different botulinum toxin preparations in every chapter. Includes procedural how-to's, step-by-step advice on proper techniques, case studies, contraindications and managing complications, and pearls and pitfalls. An eBook version is included with purchase. The eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures and references, with the ability to search, customize your content, make notes and highlights, and have content read aloud. Other recent titles in the Procedures in Cosmetic Dermatology Series: Soft Tissue Augmentation, 5th Edition [9780323830751] Lasers, Lights, and Energy Devices, 5th Edition [9780323829052] Hair Restoration [9780323829212] Cosmetic Procedures in Skin of Color [9780323831444]
Procedures in Cosmetic Dermatology: Lasers, Lights, and Energy Devices by
Offering a step-by-step, practical approach to this challenging area of dermatology, Procedures in Cosmetic Dermatology: Lasers, Lights, and Energy Devices, 5th Edition, enables you to master the up-to-date cosmetic techniques that produce the superior results your patients expect. Edited by expert clinicians Drs. Elizabeth L. Tanzi, Jeffrey S. Dover, and Leah K. Spring, it provides an overview of the underlying scientific principles of lasers and lights in dermatology, as well as the latest treatment options-all abundantly illustrated and evidence based. A substantial video library demonstrating applications and technical aspects helps you successfully incorporate the latest procedures into your practice. Provides current, authoritative guidance on popular procedures including laser hair removal, tattoo removal, vascular lesions, pigmented lesions, non-ablative fractional laser rejuvenation, ablative laser resurfacing, tissue tightening, and body contouring. Contains five new chapters: Treatment of Skin with Intense Pulsed Light Sources, Radiofrequency Microneedling, Photodynamic Therapy, Muscle Toning and Contouring, and Treatment of Acne with Light and Energy-Based Devices. Features a greatly expanded video library with more than three dozen new videos, demonstrating modalities such as photodynamic therapy, IPL, radiofrequency microneedling, a wide range of lasers, and cryolipolysis. Covers special considerations when treating skin of color, as well as complications and legal considerations of laser, light, and energy-based treatments. Includes procedural how-to's, step-by-step advice on proper techniques, case studies, and pearls and pitfalls. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Rapid Response Events in the Critically Ill by
Careful monitoring of at-risk patients, early intervention, and timely escalation to the critical care unit from a general ward has been shown to improve patient clinical outcomes. The first text of its kind in this important area, Rapid Response Events in the Critically Ill: A Case-Based Approach to Inpatient Medical Emergencies is designed to help you recognize the fundamental signs of deterioration in patients on medical wards and ensure that transfer is made to the ICU before the development of adverse clinical outcomes. Using a highly effective teaching approach preferred by both residents and fellows, this innovative text links theory to practice with a brief review of clinical cases sourced from various academic centers. Presents 62 real-world clinical cases that demonstrate the principles of diagnosis and therapy, helping you develop a thorough understanding of how to diagnose and treat each condition. Provides practical clinical insights into the best methods to improve patient safety and quality of care through the rapid identification and clinical intervention of hospitalized patients suffering acute deterioration. Emphasizes how to identify and manage problems in a way that integrates theory and clinical experience. Cases contain an algorithmic flow chart for rapid decision-making reference, clinical pearls on diagnosis and management, and a consistent format for quick and easy access to key information. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
The Science of Health Disparities Research by
Integrates the various disciplines of the science of health disparities in one comprehensive volume The Science of Health Disparities Research is an indispensable source of up-to-date information on clinical and translational health disparities science. Building upon the advances in health disparities research over the past decade, this authoritative volume informs policies and practices addressing the diseases, disorders, and gaps in health outcomes that are more prevalent in minority populations and socially disadvantaged communities. Contributions by recognized scholars and leaders in the field--featuring contemporary research, conceptual models, and a broad range of scientific perspectives--provide an interdisciplinary approach to reducing inequalities in population health, encouraging community engagement in the research process, and promoting social justice. In-depth chapters help readers better understand the specifics of minority health and health disparities while demonstrating the importance of advancing theory, refining measurement, improving investigative methods, and diversifying scientific research. In 26 chapters, the book examines topics including the etiology of health disparities research, the determinants of population health, research ethics, and research in African American, Asians, Latino, American Indian, and other vulnerable populations. Providing a unified framework on the principles and applications of the science of health disparities research, this important volume: Defines the field of health disparities science and suggests new directions in scholarship and research Explains basic definitions, principles, and concepts for identifying, understanding and addressing health disparities Provides guidance on both conducting health disparities research and translating the results Examines how social, historical and contemporary injustices may influence the health of racial and ethnic minorities Illustrates the increasing national and global importance of addressing health disparities Discusses population health training, capacity-building, and the transdisciplinary tools needed to advance health equity A significant contribution to the field, The Science of Health Disparities Research is an essential resource for students and basic and clinical researchers in genetics, population genetics, and public health, health care policymakers, and epidemiologists, medical students, and clinicians, particularly those working with minority, vulnerable, or underserved populations.
Sims' Symptoms in the Mind: Textbook of Descriptive Psychopathology by
Psychopathology - the study of abnormal mental states - is a foundational discipline of psychiatry that is formidable to master. Since 1988, Sims' Symptoms in the Mind has been the leading introductory textbook in this area and provides the conceptual backbone needed by every psychiatrist in training. It defines and explains the main symptoms and syndromes of mental illness encountered in clinical practice. Now in its seventh edition, the text has been fully revised and updated by renowned psychiatry professor Femi Oyebode. It provides a masterful introduction to this difficult area that will challenge the reader intellectually, while at the same time supporting his or her learning. With a combination of accessible text and audiovisual materials in the online ebook, this is the standard postgraduate text for psychiatric trainees as well as a valued reference for academics, clinical psychiatrists and psychologists, allied health professionals, and researchers. Complete and practical overview of clinical psychopathology New chapter on the emerging area of abnormalities of aesthetic sense Expanded information on musical hallucinations, erotomania, abnormalities of the form of thinking, and the intriguing nature of gesture and its disturbance Online videos and podcasts covering interviewing techniques and tips Multiple choice questions and extended answers, offering different ways to learn Fully updated with new knowledge, concepts and theoretical and explanatory models
Telehealth in Urology by
Offering significant benefits to both healthcare providers and patients, telehealth is a key component in the future of urology and patient care. Telehealth in Urology is a step-by-step, illustrated guide for clinicians who are beginning a telehealth offering or are interested in adopting new digital technologies-all specific and relevant to today's urology practice. It covers the key information you need to know-from necessary equipment to the practice team-with clear explanations of how you can best use telemedicine to provide timely, effective care to every patient. Explains how to establish and conduct telehealth consultations and describes the growing number of options in telehealth diagnostics, patient monitoring, and digital therapeutics. Offers practical examples of conducting telehealth visits for common adult and pediatric urological complaints, for both benign and malignant conditions. Guides readers step by step through the many practical challenges of telemedicine for clinicians, patients, and practices, and describes the opportunities that lay ahead for the field. Covers regulatory, compliance, and technical principles of telehealth devices and applications for use in urology, including key topics such as data protection, patient privacy, e-prescribing, remote diagnostics and monitoring, and much more.
Textbook of Diagnostic Sonography by
Master sonographic examination protocols and techniques! The market-leading ultrasound text and reference, Textbook of Diagnostic Sonography, 9th Edition provides an in-depth understanding of general/abdominal and obstetric/gynecologic sonography. More than 3,100 ultrasound images and full-color anatomy illustrations help you recognize normal anatomy and abnormal pathology. Organized primarily by body system, coverage includes vascular sonography and echocardiography, and in the obstetrics section features a chronologic, trimester approach to ultrasound during pregnancy. Written by expert medical sonography educator and clinician Sandra L. Hagen-Ansert, this resource serves as ideal preparation for board exams and as a reference for practitioners in many different clinical settings. Comprehensive coverage includes sections on the foundations of ultrasound imaging and patient care, the abdomen, superficial structures of the body, pediatrics, the thoracic cavity and echocardiography, cerebrovascular evaluation, gynecology, and obstetrics. More than 3,100 images and full-color illustrations include high-resolution ultrasound pictures, detailed line drawings with need-to-know anatomic information, color photographs of gross pathology, and color Doppler illustrations. Key Terms open each chapter, focusing your attention on the vocabulary that you are required to know and understand. Key Pearls highlight the important concepts in each chapter. Pathology tables summarize clinical findings, laboratory findings, sonographic findings, and differential considerations. Sonographic Findings icon makes it easy to locate clinical information on particular pathologic conditions. Imaging information in each chapter includes normal anatomy, normal physiology, laboratory data and values, pathology, sonographic evaluation of an organ, pitfalls in sonography, clinical findings, and differential considerations. Condensed bibliography at the end of each chapter lists essential references for further research and study. Resources on the Evolve website include review questions for students and PowerPoint® slides, an image collection, and a test bank with 1,625 questions for instructors. NEW! Updated images depict the latest advances in the field of sonography and help you prepare for ARDMS boards and for clinicals. NEW! Updated content reflects the newest curriculum standards so you gain the knowledge and expertise required to pass the boards.
Textbook of SARS-CoV-2 and COVID-19 by
Written by physicians and scientists with expertise in this evolving area, Textbook of SARS-CoV-2 and COVID-19 provides a coherent, readable, and clinically relevant review of the biology, epidemiology, pathophysiology, immunology, clinical features, current treatment, and prevention strategies for the SARS-CoV-2 virus. Using both a systemic and topic-based approach, it summarizes and clarifies the extensive literature published on SARS-CoV-2 and COVID-19, includes a comprehensive bibliography, and provides answers to clinical questions at the point of care from multiple specialty perspectives. Includes dedicated chapters for pulmonary, cardiac, neurological, and oral manifestations of COVID-19. Covers therapeutics and novel therapeutic targets of SARS-CoV-2 and COVID-19. Addresses the diagnostic and management challenges of COVID-19 in the emergency department. Discusses COVID-19 in special populations, including the effect of SARS-CoV-2 infection in pregnant mothers and to the fetus and newborn. Provides a systematic overview and comparison of vaccines that are approved and in development. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Creating Sanctuary by
Creating Sanctuary is a description of a hospital-based program to treat adults who had been abused as children and the revolutionary knowledge about trauma and adversity that the program was based upon. This book focuses on the biological, psychological, and social aspects of trauma. Fifteen years later, Dr. Sandra Bloom has updated this classic work to include the groundbreaking Adverse Childhood Experiences Study that came out in 1998, information about Epigenetics, and new material about what we know about the brain and violence. This book is for courses in counseling, social work, and clinical psychology on mental health, trauma, and trauma theory.
Destroying Sanctuary by
For the last thirty years, the nation's mental health and social service systems have been under relentless assault, with dramatically rising costs and the fragmentation of service delivery rendering them incapable of ensuring the safety, security, and recovery of their clients. The resultingorganizational trauma both mirrors and magnifies the trauma-related problems their clients seek relief from. Just as the lives of people exposed to chronic trauma and abuse become organized around the traumatic experience, so too have our social service systems become organized around the recurrentstress of trying to do more under greater pressure: they become crisis-oriented, authoritarian, disempowered, and demoralized, often living in the present moment, haunted by the past, and unable to plan for the future.Complex interactions among traumatized clients, stressed staff, pressured organizations, and a social and economic climate that is often hostile to recovery efforts recreate the very experiences that have proven so toxic to clients in the first place. Healing is possible for these clients if theyenter helping, protective environments, yet toxic stress has destroyed the sanctuary that our systems are designed to provide.This thoughtful, impassioned critique of business as usual begins to outline a vision for transforming our mental health and social service systems. Linking trauma theory to organizational function, Destroying Sanctuary provides a framework for creating truly trauma-informed services. Theorganizational change method that has become known as the Sanctuary Model lays the groundwork for establishing safe havens for individual and organizational recovery. The goals are practical: improve clinical outcomes, increase staff satisfaction and health, increase leadership competence, anddevelop a technology for creating and sustaining healthier systems. Only in this way can our mental health and social service systems become empowered to make a more effective contribution to the overall health of the nation.Destroying Sanctuary is a stirring call for reform and recovery, required reading for anyone concerned with removing the formidable barriers to mental health and social services, from clinicians and administrators to consumer advocates.
Restoring Sanctuary by
This is the third in a trilogy of books that chronicle the revolutionary changes in our mental health and human service delivery systems that have conspired to disempower staff and hinder client recovery. Creating Sanctuary documented the evolution of The Sanctuary Model therapeutic approachas an antidote to the personal and social trauma that clients bring to child welfare agencies, psychiatric hospitals, and residential facilities. Destroying Sanctuary details the destructive role of organizational trauma in the nation's systems of care. Restoring Sanctuary is a user-friendly manualfor organizational change that addresses the deep roots of toxic stress and illustrates how to transform a dysfunctional human service system into a safe, secure, trauma-informed environment.At its heart, The Sanctuary Model represents an organizational value system that is committed to seven principles, which serve as anchors for decision making at all levels: non-violence, emotional intelligence, social learning, democracy, open communication, social responsibility, and growth andchange. The Sanctuary Model is not a clinical intervention; rather, it is a method for creating an organizational culture that can more effectively provide a cohesive context within which healing from psychological and socially derived forms of traumatic experience can be addressed. Chapters areorganized around the seven Sanctuary commitments, providing step-by-step, realistic guidance on creating and sustaining fundamental change.Restoring Sanctuary is a roadmap to recovery for our nation's systems of care. It explores the notion that organizations are living systems themselves and as such they manifest various degrees of health and dysfunction, analogous to those of individuals. Becoming a truly trauma-informed systemtherefore requires a process of reconstitution within helping organizations, top to bottom. A system cannot be truly trauma-informed unless the system can create and sustain a process of understanding itself.