Print Books Available for Check Out: Visit the Library to get these books.
Fast Facts for the Nurse Preceptor by Margaret Curry CioccoThis quick-access guide for novice nurse preceptors walks through, step-by-step, how to successfully orient new nurses to the hospital environment. Preceptors are key to staff retention, job satisfaction, improved quality of care, patient safety and transition to practice. For the busy novice nurse preceptor who believes they do not have the time or preparation to be a nurse preceptor, Fast Facts for the Nurse Preceptor, Second Edition explains all the requisites for demonstrating, guiding, and mentoring new nurses through the process of delivering safe, evidence-based, patient-centered care. The second edition builds upon the foundation of the first to address more complicated challenges preceptors face. While reviewing the basics like shift organization, prioritization, communication, delegation, and conflict resolution, this orientation guide delineates the essential qualities of a competent preceptor and their primary responsibilities. It discusses the knowledge and skills a successful preceptor must impart to new nurses while acclimating to a variety of teaching and learning styles. Chapters discuss how to recognize the warning signs of a struggling preceptee, work through a preceptee's "transition shock," and help new nurses to develop critical thinking skills. Abundant case studies highlight common and challenging precepting situations. New to the Second Edition: Updated with FIVE completely new chapters: Selection, Education, and Retention of the Preceptor Preceptee Learning and Preceptor Teaching Styles The Challenging Student Precepting the Accelerated BSN and Advanced Practice Nurse (APRN) The Unsafe Preceptee and How to Avoid "Failure to Fail" Key Features: Helps preceptors to serve as excellent role models, mentors, and teachers for new nurses Offers quick-access, step-by-stop guidance with short paragraphs and bulleted information Uses case studies to highlight both common and challenging precepting scenarios Includes evidence-based content throughout Contains competency assessment and evaluation forms
Publication Date: 2020-10-01
The Hospital for Sick Children Handbook of Pediatrics by HSC (Editor); Shawna Silver (Editor); Deborah Schonfeld (Editor); Siobhán Neville (Editor); Catherine Diskin (Editor)Practical and pocket sized, The Hospital for Sick Children Handbook of Pediatrics has been a trusted clinical reference for more than 50 years. The fully revised 12th Edition continues this tradition of excellence with succinct, easily accessible, and evidence-based answers for the diagnosis and management of pediatric patients. Get the reliable information you need from staff pediatricians, specialists, residents, and fellows at one of the top pediatric hospitals in the world. Provides the most up-to-date diagnostic and therapeutic approaches to pediatric clinical problems using evidence-based guidelines. Contains new chapters on mental health and technology and medical complexity. Offers quick access to comprehensive information on urgent situations in a six-chapter Acute Care section devoted to pediatric emergencies. Includes abundant algorithms for bedside diagnoses and management of various scenarios. Offers fast access to key information such as normal reference values for various ages and sizes of pediatric patients, common equations and normal vital signs, and resuscitation drugs. Widely used by medical students, residents, practicing pediatricians, family physicians, emergency physicians, nurses, and other interdisciplinary practitioners. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Publication Date: 2022-05-05
Invisible Child by Andrea ElliottPULITZER PRIZE WINNER * NATIONAL BESTSELLER * A "vivid and devastating" (The New York Times) portrait of an indomitable girl--from acclaimed journalist Andrea Elliott "From its first indelible pages to its rich and startling conclusion, Invisible Child had me, by turns, stricken, inspired, outraged, illuminated, in tears, and hungering for reimmersion in its Dickensian depths."--Ayad Akhtar, author of Homeland Elegies ONE OF THE TEN BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR: The New York Times * ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR: The Atlantic, The New York Times Book Review, Time, NPR, Library Journal In Invisible Child, Pulitzer Prize winner Andrea Elliott follows eight dramatic years in the life of Dasani, a girl whose imagination is as soaring as the skyscrapers near her Brooklyn shelter. In this sweeping narrative, Elliott weaves the story of Dasani's childhood with the history of her ancestors, tracing their passage from slavery to the Great Migration north. As Dasani comes of age, New York City's homeless crisis has exploded, deepening the chasm between rich and poor. She must guide her siblings through a world riddled by hunger, violence, racism, drug addiction, and the threat of foster care. Out on the street, Dasani becomes a fierce fighter "to protect those who I love." When she finally escapes city life to enroll in a boarding school, she faces an impossible question: What if leaving poverty means abandoning your family, and yourself? A work of luminous and riveting prose, Elliott's Invisible Child reads like a page-turning novel. It is an astonishing story about the power of resilience, the importance of family and the cost of inequality--told through the crucible of one remarkable girl. Winner of the J. Anthony Lukas Book Prize * Finalist for the Bernstein Award and the PEN/John Kenneth Galbraith Award
Publication Date: 2022-05-17
Mastering Precepting by Beth Tamplet Ulrich; Sigma Theta Tau International Staff (Contribution by)
Publication Date: 2018-11-01
Polyvagal Theory and the Developing Child by Marilyn R. Sanders; George S. ThompsonAt its heart, polyvagal theory describes how the brain's unconscious sense of safety or danger impacts our emotions and behaviors. In this powerful book, pediatrician and neonatologist Marilyn R. Sanders and child psychiatrist George S. Thompson offer readers both a meditation on caregiving and a call to action for physicians, educators, and mental health providers. When children don't have safe relationships, or emotional, medical, or physical traumas punctuate their lives, their ability to love, trust, and thrive is damaged. Children who have multiple relationship disruptions may have physical, behavioral, or mental health concerns that follow them into adulthood. By attending to the lessons of polyvagal theory?that adult caregivers must be aware of children's unconscious processing of sensory information?the authors show how professionals can play a critical role in establishing a sense of safety even in the face of dangerous, and sometimes incomprehensibly scary, situations.
Publication Date: 2021-11-02
A Real-World Guide for the New Nurse Preceptor by Rachel Edmondson
Publication Date: 2018-10-01
What Happened to You? by Oprah Winfrey; Bruce D. Perry#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER Our earliest experiences shape our lives far down the road, and What Happened to You? provides powerful scientific and emotional insights into the behavioral patterns so many of us struggle to understand. "Through this lens we can build a renewed sense of personal self-worth and ultimately recalibrate our responses to circumstances, situations, and relationships. It is, in other words, the key to reshaping our very lives."--Oprah Winfrey This book is going to change the way you see your life. Have you ever wondered "Why did I do that?" or "Why can't I just control my behavior?" Others may judge our reactions and think, "What's wrong with that person?" When questioning our emotions, it's easy to place the blame on ourselves; holding ourselves and those around us to an impossible standard. It's time we started asking a different question. Through deeply personal conversations, Oprah Winfrey and renowned brain and trauma expert Dr. Bruce Perry offer a groundbreaking and profound shift from asking "What's wrong with you?" to "What happened to you?" Here, Winfrey shares stories from her own past, understanding through experience the vulnerability that comes from facing trauma and adversity at a young age. In conversation throughout the book, she and Dr. Perry focus on understanding people, behavior, and ourselves. It's a subtle but profound shift in our approach to trauma, and it's one that allows us to understand our pasts in order to clear a path to our future--opening the door to resilience and healing in a proven, powerful way.
Publication Date: 2021-04-27
You're in the Wrong Bathroom! by Laura Erickson-Schroth; Laura A. JacobsThis "insightful and instructive primer" debunks the twenty-one most common myths and misconceptions about transgender issues--"buy this book and share it with [your] whole family" (Bust) From Laverne Cox and Caitlyn Jenner to Thomas Beatie ("the pregnant man") and transgender youth, coverage of trans lives has been exploding--yet so much misinformation persists. Bringing together the medical, social, psychological, and political aspects of being trans in the United States today, "You're in the Wrong Bathroom!" unpacks the twenty-one most common myths and misconceptions about transgender and gender-nonconforming people. Authors Laura Erickson-Schroth, MD, a psychiatrist, and Laura A. Jacobs, LCSW-R, a psychotherapist, address a range of fallacies: * Trans People Are "Trapped in the Wrong Body" * You're Not Really Trans If You Haven't Had "the Surgery" * Trans People Are a Danger to Others, Especially Children * Trans People Are Mentally Ill and Therapy Can Change Them * Trans People and Feminists Don't Get Along
Publication Date: 2017-05-30
African American Grief by Paul C. Rosenblatt; Beverly R. WallaceAfrican American Grief is a unique contribution to the field, both as a professional resource for counselors, therapists, social workers, clergy, and nurses, and as a reference volume for thanatologists, academics, and researchers. The classic edition includes a new preface from the authors reflecting on their work and on the changes in society and the field since the book's initial publication. This work considers the potential effects of slavery, racism, and white ignorance and oppression on the African American experience and conception of death and grief in America. Based on interviews with 26 African Americans who have faced the death of a significant person in their lives, the authors document, describe, and analyze key phenomena of the unique African American experience of grief. The book combines moving narratives from the interviewees with sound research, analysis, and theoretical discussion of important issues in thanatology, as well as topics such as the influence of the African American church, gospel music, family grief, medical racism as a cause of death, and discrimination during life and after death.
Publication Date: 2021-08-01
Blindspot by Mahzarin R. Banaji; Anthony G. Greenwald"Accessible and authoritative . . . While we may not have much power to eradicate our own prejudices, we can counteract them. The first step is to turn a hidden bias into a visible one. . . . What if we're not the magnanimous people we think we are?"--The Washington Post I know my own mind. I am able to assess others in a fair and accurate way. These self-perceptions are challenged by leading psychologists Mahzarin R. Banaji and Anthony G. Greenwald as they explore the hidden biases we all carry from a lifetime of exposure to cultural attitudes about age, gender, race, ethnicity, religion, social class, sexuality, disability status, and nationality. "Blindspot" is the authors' metaphor for the portion of the mind that houses hidden biases. Writing with simplicity and verve, Banaji and Greenwald question the extent to which our perceptions of social groups--without our awareness or conscious control--shape our likes and dislikes and our judgments about people's character, abilities, and potential. In Blindspot, the authors reveal hidden biases based on their experience with the Implicit Association Test, a method that has revolutionized the way scientists learn about the human mind and that gives us a glimpse into what lies within the metaphoric blindspot. The title's "good people" are those of us who strive to align our behavior with our intentions. The aim of Blindspot is to explain the science in plain enough language to help well-intentioned people achieve that alignment. By gaining awareness, we can adapt beliefs and behavior and "outsmart the machine" in our heads so we can be fairer to those around us. Venturing into this book is an invitation to understand our own minds. Brilliant, authoritative, and utterly accessible, Blindspot is a book that will challenge and change readers for years to come. Praise for Blindspot "Conversational . . . easy to read, and best of all, it has the potential, at least, to change the way you think about yourself."--Leonard Mlodinow, The New York Review of Books "Banaji and Greenwald deserve a major award for writing such a lively and engaging book that conveys an important message: Mental processes that we are not aware of can affect what we think and what we do. Blindspot is one of the most illuminating books ever written on this topic."--Elizabeth F. Loftus, Ph.D., distinguished professor, University of California, Irvine; past president, Association for Psychological Science; author of Eyewitness Testimony
Publication Date: 2016-08-16
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders by American Psychiatric AssociationThe Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, Text Revision (DSM-5-TR), is the most comprehensive, current, and critical resource for clinical practice available to today's mental health clinicians and researchers. DSM-5-TR includes the fully revised text and references, updated diagnostic criteria and ICD-10-CM codes since DSM-5 was published in 2013. It features a new disorder, Prolonged Grief Disorder, as well as codes for suicidal behavior available to all clinicians of any discipline without the requirement of any other diagnosis. With contributions from over 200 subject matter experts, this updated volume boasts the most current text updates based on the scientific literature. Now in four-color and with the ability to authenticate each printed copy, DSM-5-TR provides a cohesive, updated presentation of criteria, diagnostic codes, and text. This latest volume offers a common language for clinicians involved in the diagnosis and study of mental disorders and facilitates an objective assessment of symptom presentations across a variety of clinical settings--inpatient, outpatient, partial hospital, consultation-liaison, clinical, private practice, and primary care. Stay current with these important updates in DSM-5-TR: * Fully revised text for each disorder with updated sections on associated features, prevalence, development and course, risk and prognostic factors, culture, diagnostic markers, suicide, differential diagnosis, and more.* Addition of Prolonged Grief Disorder (PGD) to Section II--a new disorder for diagnosis* Over 70 modified criteria sets with helpful clarifications since publication of DSM-5* Fully updated Introduction and Use of the Manual to guide usage and provide context for important terminology* Considerations of the impact of racism and discrimination on mental disorders integrated into the text* New codes to flag and monitor suicidal behavior, available to all clinicians of any discipline and without the requirement of any other diagnosis* Fully updated ICD-10-CM codes implemented since 2013, including over 50 coding updates new to DSM-5-TR for substance intoxication and withdrawal and other disorders* Updated and redesigned Diagnostic Classification This manual is a valuable resource for other physicians and health professionals, including psychologists, counselors, nurses, and occupational and rehabilitation therapists, as well as social workers and forensic and legal specialists. The new DSM-5-TR is the most definitive resource for the diagnosis and classification of mental disorders.
Publication Date: 2022-03-18
Physical Assessment of the Newborn by Ellen P. Tappero; Mary Ellen Honeyfield"The text is... a core text for any program preparing individuals for advanced practice roles in perinatal and neonatal care, and it should be a resource in every setting providing care to neonates. At all levels of practice, it serves as a convenient reference to normal parameters, common variations, and less commonly seen abnormalities." --Susan Tucker Blackburn, RN, PhD, FAAN Author of Maternal, Fetal, and Neonatal Physiology: A Clinical Perspective From the Foreword The newly revised, 25th anniversary edition of this definitive publication on neonatal care continues to illustrate how to systematically and accurately gather assessment data and interpret results. Because even normal newborns feature a wide range of physical variation, subtle signs that indicate internal malformations or syndromes may escape notice without a proper assessment. Many problems in the neonate can be noticed early by an astute nurse, neonatal nurse practitioner, neonatal physician assistant, or physician with honed assessment skills, long before electronic monitors or other equipment can detect them. Physical Assessment of the Newborn, Sixth Edition, addresses the physical, physiologic, neurologic, and behavioral implications of a thorough assessment, and explains how healthcare providers can reduce the risks associated with the transition to extrauterine life and the neonatal period. Grounded with a scientific basis and rationale, each system assessment represents the most up-to-date clinical content. Because assessment skills are such an integral aspect of practice, many individuals take them for granted, yet all health professionals who perform newborn examinations--including nurses, neonatal and pediatric nurse practitioners, nurse-midwives, physicians, therapists, and students preparing for advanced practice roles in neonatal care--can benefit from the essential content presented in this book. New to the Sixth Edition: Provides clinical updates throughoutPresents an enhanced art programOffers an all-new chapter on the perinatally substance-exposed neonateIncludes an image bank and PowerPoints Key Features: Addresses all key aspects of newborn assessmentProvides a well-organized evaluation of individual body systemsAssists practitioners in identifying infant state, behavioral clues, and signs of painExamines the wide range of variation among newborns of different gestational agesProvides information related to a maternal history, including antepartum testing and intrapartum monitoringWritten in an easy-to-read, user-friendly styleIncludes continuing education exam