Skip to main content
Home

Citation Management (EndNote and More)

Time saving software for managing your references research and writing; particularly EndNote.

EndNote Desktop - Training and Information

The website http://www.EndNote.com has a lot of information on the program, including training materials and supplemental import and output styles. For new users, the most important part is the training page linked from the top right corner. The direct URL for the training website is: http://clarivate.libguides.com/endnote_training/home.

Additionally, anyone who would like an in-person individual or small group class on using EndNote here at CMH, or needs help solving problems with using it, can submit a request for Librarian assistance via the Library Search and Services Request Form on our Virtual Library page. 

Note: If you have a current, fully updated version of the desktop EndNote, you also receive 2 years of free 'roaming' use of the online EndNote Basic with some advanced features included. This allows you to synchronize EndNote libraries between the online and desktop software versions and to access your reference collections from any internet-connected computer at https://www.myendnoteweb.com. In order to gain this access, create an account from your desktop EndNote when you first install it or use the 'Sync' option under the Tools menu. If you don't keep your EndNote upgraded regularly, you may lose the advanced features of this access; however, you will still have access to the limited EndNote Basic online. 

Adding PDFs to EndNote from Children's Mercy Library Resources

  • One important feature of EndNote Desktop is its "Full-Text Finder" search. This searches the internet for free/open access full-text PDFs of the articles in your EndNote Library (or a selected subset of them) and automatically imports the PDFs into EndNote. To increase the number of full-text PDFs located, you can authenticate and proxy within EndNote to access many of CMH's subscribed Library Services resources.
    • To set up this feature in EndNote:

      1. Go to the edit menu and select Preferences

      2. In the Preferences window, select Find Full-Text from the left side column

      3. In the Find Full-Text Preferences (right side), check all the boxes, enter the following URLs as indicated, and click “Apply.”

      OpenURL Path: https://childrensmercy.ovidds.com/resolver/2646?

      Authenticate with URL: http://ezproxy.cmh.edu/login?url

  • Once this is setup, you should not need to adjust it again, unless, you wish to proxy through another institution such as UMKC or KUMC. 
    • Select the references you wish it to search (use shift-click or ctrl-click to select as many as you would like).
    • Go to the References Menu, mouse-over "Find Full Text" and select "authenticate"
    • Use your CMH Scope/Outlook Log In, then click done.
    • Go back to the References Menu, mouse-over "Find Full Text" and select "Find Full Text."
    • It should then process automatically. If you have the file attachment field displayed in EndNote, which is default and commonly maintained, each citation that has a located PDF imported will then show a paperclip in that field.
    • Once it is finished, for any citation that has a PDF, you should be able to click a tab on the top of the left-side panel to view it. Contact Library Services for any assistance you need.