Medical Education Collection
Resources for clinical educators
Equitable and Inclusive Care in Pediatrics: a Compendium of AAP Clinical Practice Guidelines and Policies by
This compendium of clinical practice guidelines and policy statements from the American Academy of Pediatrics helps equip clinicians to provide equitable and inclusive care to vulnerable and underserved pediatric populations. It offers guidance on the care of such populations as immigrant children and their families; children and families who are black, indigenous or people of color; LGBTQ+ youth and their families; and more. Additionally, the compendium covers topics such as substance use disorders, trauma informed care, and care of youth involved in the legal system. Pediatricians, family medicine physicians, physician assistants, and nurse practitioners who care for children will find this collection useful.
Gray's Anatomy for Students by
Concise, readable text and an outstanding art program make Gray's Anatomy for Students, 5th Edition, your go-to text for essential information in human anatomy. This fully revised volume focuses on the core information medical students need to know, in an easy-access format and with additional multimedia content to facilitate effective study and mastery of the material. A team of expert authors share a wealth of diverse teaching and clinical experience-all enhanced by more than 1,000 innovative, original illustrations by renowned illustrators Richard Tibbitts and Paul Richardson, who capture anatomical features with unrivalled clarity. Helps you understand the practical applications of anatomical concepts through unique coverage of surface anatomy, correlative diagnostic images, and clinical case studies. Contains increased representation of diverse population groups throughout, incorporating a wider range of skin tones and important clinical considerations related to transgender and intersex individuals. Presents anatomy logically by body region - as well as bonus updated eBook chapters for each major body system to facilitate learning from a different perspective. Includes new and improved online materials such as self-assessment questions, medical and physical therapy clinical cases, a unique Interactive Surface Anatomy tool, and more. Provides fully revised and updated clinical content including numerous new In the Clinic boxes, images, and correlates throughout that reflect the latest advances seen in clinical practice. New and updated Clinical Cases are included in the accompanying enhanced eBook. Features an updated neuroanatomy eBook chapter, so you can learn key aspects of this challenging topic in the context of general anatomy. Improves comprehension of complex cranial nerves with a visual map summarizing cranial nerve distribution and function. Offers schematic drawings for key structures and topics in every chapter, providing an additional, simplified approach to introduce each topic-ideal for quick initial understanding and as a guide for your own anatomy drawings. Enables you to quickly review the basic concepts from each chapter with Conceptual Overviews. An eBook version is included with purchase. The eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures and references, with the ability to search, customize your content, make notes and highlights, and have content read aloud. Evolve Instructor site with a downloadable image bank is available to instructors through their Elsevier sales rep or via request at https://evolve.elsevier.com.
Immunology for Medical Students by
Comprehensive yet concise and easy to read, this updated edition of Immunology for Medical Students effectively explains complex immunology topics and their relevance in clinical practice. Boasting just the right amount of detail for today's busy medical student, it delivers state-of-the-art coverage of the latest scientific and clinical knowledge in the field. Detailed and explanatory illustrations, combined with clinically relevant examples and cases, offer a unique understanding of the human immune system and its role in protecting us from disease. Designed with a clear focus on the needs of medical students. Includes overview illustrations at the beginning of each chapter, as well as illustrations with dialogue boxes. Immunology icons are repeated throughout the text, accompanied by a helpful Icon Key. Detailed clinical cases demonstrate real-world applications. Technical boxes point out important scientific advances. End-of-chapter checklists of learning points facilitate review. Student Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, images, and references from the book on a variety of devices. You'll also access 100 multiple-choice questions to enhance your understanding of the material. Features 17 new clinical boxes as well as critical revisions to 25 of the clinical boxes featured in the previous edition, providing relevant, practical examples of cases commonly encountered in day-to-day practice. Presents new material on T Cell Subsets, the molecular and cellular processes involved in their selection and differentiation, and how this knowledge is already translating into clinical developments. Includes a brand-new chapter titled Regulation of the Immune System.
Neonatal Simulation by
Developed by the leading experts in neonatal simulation, this innovative new resource delivers neonatology health care providers and educators essential guidance on designing, developing, and implementing simulation-based neonatal education programs. The early chapters cover learning theory, fundamentals of scenario design, and simulation and the Neonatal Resuscitation Program*. The later chapters cover specific applications of simulation in neonatology and debriefing techniques. The book walks the reader through scenario design, mannequins and task trainers, moulage, simulation techniques, virtual simulations, mannequin adaptations needed to conduct specific simulation procedures, debriefing methods, and more. Step-by-step images walk the reader through adapting mannequins to simulate procedures and how to replicate body fluids and conditions commonly encountered in newborns. With 225+ color images, as well as plenty of helpful boxes and tables throughout, the book will be useful to both novice and expert. More than 30 chapters include In situ simulation Simulation and the Neonatal Resuscitation Program Mannequins and Task Trainers Boot Camps Debriefing in Simulation-based Training Simulation Operations And more...
PCEP Book 1: Maternal and Fetal Evaluation and Immediate Newborn Care by
The fourth edition of this popular resource features step-by-step skill instruction and practice-focused exercises covering maternal and fetal evaluation and immediate newborn care. Developed by a distinguished editorial board, the Perinatal Continuing Education Program (PCEP) is a comprehensive, self-paced education program in 4 volumes. This book features 8 units covering information and skills for obstetric evaluation and neonatal resuscitation (consistent with AAP guidelines) as well as units to provide the necessary information for initial stabilization of a newborn. The neonatal resuscitation unit has been updated to reflect the new NRP®, 8th Edition, guidelines. TOPICS INCLUDE Is the Mother Sick? Is the Fetus Sick? Fetal Age, Growth, and Maturity Fetal Well-being Is the Baby Sick? Recognizing and Preventing Problems in the Newborns Pulse Oximetry Resuscitating the Newborn Gestational Age- and Size-Associated Risk Factors Thermal Environment Hypoglycemia Blood Glucose Screenings And more...
PCEP Book 2: Maternal and Fetal Care by
The fourth edition of this popular resource features step-by-step skill instruction and practice-focused exercises covering maternal and fetal care. Developed by a distinguished editorial board, the Perinatal Continuing Education Program (PCEP) is a comprehensive, self-paced education program in 4 volumes. This book features 12 units containing information and skills essential for the recognition and initial management of high-risk and sick pregnant women and their fetuses. In this updated fourth edition, new units have been added on psychosocial risk factors in pregnancy and obstetric risk factors in prior or current pregnancy. TOPICS INCLUDE Hypertension in pregnancy Obstetric hemorrhage Infectious diseases in pregnancy Gestational diabetes Prelabor rupture of membranes and intra-amniotic infection Preterm labor Inducing and augmenting labor Abnormal labor progress and difficult deliveries Imminent delivery and preparation for maternal/fetal transport And more...
PCEP Book 3: Neonatal Care by
This popular resource features step-by-step skill instruction and practice-focused exercises covering neonatal care. Developed by a distinguished editorial board, the Perinatal Continuing Education Program (PCEP) is a comprehensive, self-paced education program in 4 volumes. This book features 11 units covering information and skills assessment and initial management of frequently encountered neonatal illnesses, plus a brand-new unit on how to care for babies with neonatal abstinence syndrome (neonatal opioid withdrawal syndrome). TOPICS INCLUDE Oxygen Respiratory distress Umbilical catheters Low blood pressure (hypotension) Intravenous therapy Feeding Hyperbilirubinemia Infections Identifying and caring for sick and at-risk babies Preparation for neonatal transport Neonatal abstinence syndrome (neonatal opioid withdrawal syndrome)
PCEP Book 4: Specialized Newborn Care by
This fourth edition of this popular resource features step-by-step skill instruction and practice-focused exercises covering maternal and fetal evaluation and immediate newborn care. Developed by a distinguished editorial board, the Perinatal Continuing Education Program (PCEP) is a comprehensive, self-paced education program in 4 volumes. This book features 8 units on complex neonatal therapies, including 2 new units on neonatal encephalopathy and the ethical issues surrounding perinatology, especially when caring for fetuses of periviable gestational ages. TOPICS INCLUDE Direct blood pressure measurement Exchange, reduction, and direct transfusions Continuous positive airway pressure Assisted ventilation with mechanical ventilators Surfactant therapy Therapeutic hypothermia for neonatal hypoxic-ischemic encephalopathy Continuing care for at-risk babies Biomedical ethics and perinatology
Pediatric Clinical Practice Guidelines and Policies by
Keep current with the latest clinical practice guidelines and policies from the American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP), covering 37 conditions plus every AAP policy statement, clinical report, and technical report though December 2023. KEY FEATURES New: "Clinical Practice Guideline for the Evaluation and Treatment of Children and Adolescents with Obesity" Printed text and eBook access, including full text of the new AAP clinical practice guideline and 2023 AAP policy statements, clinical reports, and technical reports Key Action Statements for all AAP clinical practice guidelines More than 600 policy statements, clinical reports, technical reports, and AAP endorsed policies Five-section organization for ease of use
Pediatric Hospital Medicine by
This educational guide provides a much-needed subspeciality-specific learning resource for pediatric hospital medicine. Featuring 50 of the most commonly presenting topics encountered by pediatric hospitalists, this book brings readers into the morning meeting and walks them through patient presentation, diagnosis, treatment, and resolution, providing realistic examples in an engaging case-based format. This book is designed to supplement the educational experience of trainees during their inpatient pediatrics rotation, and its versatility allows it to be used as an educational guide to lead learning sessions or as an individual resource or study guide. Each chapter dives into an individual case that is titled with a fictitious patient name, often related to the case topic, which provides a helpful memory tool for learners. Each case includes a Documentation Tips section, designed to ensure accurate and clear communication across the interdisciplinary team that cares for hospitalized children, as well as Clinical Pearls summarizing the main chapter take-aways. Back to Basics boxes are included in cases as needed, to serve as a refresher of examination techniques, laboratory test result analysis, or other foundational information related to the cases. In addition, Health Equity Focus boxes related to social determinants of health are featured throughout the book to help clinicians recognize and address potential inequities in care.
The Practitioner As Teacher - Updated Edition by
Mentors for student nurses and newly registered nurses will welcome the revised fourth edition of this trusted handbook on how to teach others: peers, students, patients and relatives. It is written in a user-friendly style, 'talking through' strategies with the reader. This is a practical 'How to' guide, rather than an academic treatise, with particular emphasis on the use of competencies. . Learning objectives begin each chapter . Sets teaching within the context of nursing and education . Aids the teaching of reflective learning . Activities and exercises are incorporated into each chapter . Presents real world examples of the application of teaching in practice . Kirkpatrick evaluation model . Competency-based practice . SCARF - Status, Certainty, Autonomy, Relatedness and Fairness in education . Revalidation with the NMC . Accreditation of Prior Experiential Learning (APEL)
Questions from NeoReviews: a Study Guide for Neonatal-Perinatal Medicine by
Enhance your knowledge of neonatal-perinatal medicine and/or study for Neonatal-Perinatal Medicine board certification or recertification with this new study guide from the editors of NeoReviews. This new guide includes more than 1,200 questions previously published in NeoReviews from January 2007 to December 2017. Each question is followed by a short explanation of the correct answer with references, including the original article. Chapters include Cardiology Dermatology Endocrinology ENT and Ophthalmology Fluids, Electrolytes, Nutrition Gastrointestinal Genetics and Inborn Errors of Metabolism Hematology/Oncology Immunology Infectious Diseases Maternal-Fetal Medicine Neonatal Resuscitation Neurology Renal Respiratory Statistics, Research, Health Services, and Ethics
Survey Methods for Medical and Health Professions Education by
Offering a practical, six-step approach to effective survey design, delivery, and analysis, Survey Methods for Medical and Health Professions Education provides a real-world framework for successful research and evaluation using surveys. Focused on medical and other health professional education research, this unique text features quick-reference checklists, high-yield explanations, and case examples throughout, making it both a foundational reference and a go-to resource for all health professions educators and researchers who use surveys. Provides a detailed and practical discussion of the steps in survey methodology, along with just enough theory to inform common decisions. Includes numerous real-world examples, both simple and complex, covering the wide range of problems researchers are likely to face. Addresses issues of survey fatigue and addresses the challenge of how to get "good data." Features "Voice of Experience" boxes-pearls based on authors' actual experiences. Concludes each chapter with a checklist so readers can quickly ensure they have covered every necessary step of survey design and implementation. Contains a convenient glossary of terms. Offers guidance from expert international contributors in medical and health professions research. Summarizes the most current standards and understanding of survey research so that experienced and novice researchers alike can directly apply content to improve research rigor. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Reference Range Values for Pediatric Care by
Completely updated, this popular pocket guide provides commonly used reference ranges and values spanning birth through adolescence; plus, data needed for treatment of preterm and other newborns. This resource helps reduce search time for reference ranges and other critical values to optimize patient assessment and treatment. TOPICS INCLUDE Conversions (conversion formulas and temperature conversions) Assessment scales and scoring (Apgar and New Ballard scoring and pain scales) Growth charts Blood pressure ranges Clinical chemistry values Immunization and periodicity schedules Hyperbilirubinemia management Rate and gap calculations Nutrition, formula preparation, and caloric counts Umbilical vein and artery catheterization measurements Dosages and levels of common antibiotic and antiseizure medications Plus, much more...