Teams Meetings have opened new opportunities for Library Services to assist faculty and staff across the hospital. We are proud to offer the following classes with more offerings forthcoming. Submit a request to schedule Library Instruction for any of the following sessions:
Continuing Education - Library Services offers/supports several options for earning CE. Did you know you can earn CE just by doing a Library Search? Learn about this and more ways to access CE options available to you through the Library.
15 to 30 Minutes
Copyright - Have a copyright question regarding a presentation, sharing resources in a training, or getting permissions for a manuscript? This session covers the basics of copyright and can be tailored for your specific project.
15 to 30 Minutes
Database Tutorials - Learn searching techniques and database features to enhance your ability to discover relevant literature in research databases. Depending on past experience, this course will run 15-30 minutes. Databases can include PubMed, CINAHL, PsycINFO, Cochrane Library, EMCARE, ClinicalKey, Health Business, GoogleScholar, EMBASE or Scopus.
15 to 30 Minutes
Getting Published - This 30-minute session can be tailored to groups or individuals. This session covers the following: finding the right journal to submit your article for publication; evaluation of journals, journal metrics, open access, author fees, and more.
30 Minutes
EndNote/Citation Management - This session can be tailored for either beginner or advanced EndNote users. It can be taught to a group or an individual. We recommend reviewing our Citation Management guide before this class. This class is 30 minutes.
30 Minutes
Google Scholar & h-index - This class will discuss h-index scores and how to set up a Google Scholar Profile. Review our guide for more information on this meeting. This meeting will take about 15 minutes and is only offered as one-on-one basis.
15 to 30 Minutes
Information Literacy - Need help getting started or a refresher with how to find topical, evidence-based information for a project? This class provides an overview of locating, evaluating, and effectively using needed information. This meeting normally takes between 30 - 60 minutes.
30 to 60 Minutes
Library Orientation - This orientation will focus on reviewing the tools and resources available through the library. The new library website will be used as a starting point. This meeting will take about 15-20 minutes.
15 to 20 Minutes
Mobile Access - Review our guide on setting up mobile access to some of our resources. The class will walk through setting up mobile access to the great resources available through the library. This meeting will take around 15-30 minutes depending on how many resources are set up.
15 to 30 Minutes
New Employee Orientation - This class is offered to all new CM employees. This quick class is designed to provide a welcome to CM and the library. The library website and most popular tools will be covered. This meeting takes around 15 minutes.
15 Minutes
MyNCBI - This class will focus on setting up a MyNCBI account on PubMed. We recommend reviewing our video tutorial and walk through before the meeting.
15 Minutes
Point of Care Tools - This class will explore evidence-based clinical decision support resources including differential diagnosis tools, treatment recommendations and evidence summaries. Participants can expect this course to last 15-45 minutes depending on the number of resources reviewed. Available tools include UpToDate, Visual Dx, Isabel, AAP Red Book, ClinicalKey Clinical Overviews and Calculators, LexiComp, HalesMeds , AccessPediatrics and Face2Gene.
15 to 45 Minutes
Professor Rounds - The purpose of this meeting is to support residents ahead of their professor round presentation. Review our guide for more information about this meeting. This meeting normally takes about 20-30 minutes.
20 to 30 Minutes
PubMed Tips and Tricks - This class is offered as an intro to PubMed. Depending on knowledge level this meeting may be anywhere from 15 to 30 minutes. Our guide discussing PubMed will be used as a starting point.
15 to 30 Minutes
SHARE - This meeting will focus on our digital repository, SHARE@Children's Mercy. Review our guide on depositing materials for more information. The meeting will include information about repositories in general, how SHARE can impact scholarly communications, and options for new collection opportunities.
15 to 30 Minutes